Return to Headlines

GHS Honors Student Scholars at Its 80th Annual National Honor Society Ceremony

For Immediate Release
PR1920-Glassboro High School - National Honor Society
October 18, 2019

New and current members of the NHS are shown on stage at the ceremony.


Glassboro High School Honors Student Scholars at Its 80th Annual National Honor Society Ceremony


Glassboro High School continued a proud tradition of honoring student scholars on October 15 when it inducted 21 students into the Glassboro Chapter of the National Honor Society. This year marked the 80th Annual Induction Ceremony for the chapter. The chapter inducts students based on scholarship, character, leadership and service. Those characteristics are known as the four pillars of the NHS. The students also need to achieve a grade point average of 93 or above. NHS members perform service activities in the school and community throughout the school year. 


“We are fortunate to have many high-achieving students who are also dedicated to contributing to the Glassboro community,” said Dr. Mark Silverstein, superintendent of Glassboro Public School.


NHS adviser Michele Memis and Ken Silver, the interim principal for GHS, awarded membership certificates and pins at the ceremony. This year’s inductees included:  Owen Anderson, Ryan Carter, Abigail Crispin, Aviva Foster, Anna Holland, Meghan Holman, Ivan Lim, Devin Leonard, Julianna Menna, Aylin Ozdemir, Kyra Pinder, Carter Profico, Nicole Rementer, Andrew Ritter, Annabelle Salugao, Gavin Shields, Jillian Smith, Brenna Somdahl Sands, Virginia Tamburello, Arelys Tirado Marrero, and Douglas Tranz Jr.


Chapter President Alexis Barnhardt, also recognized current members during the program. Current members include Burnhardt; Emma O’Brien, vice president; Morgan DiPatri, communications director; Kali Pierson, secretary; Anahi Santiago,  treasurer as well as Bethel Bichay, Aaron Harrison, Victoria Hazeley, Ruby K. K., Alicia Petrany, Visha Puwar, and Jade Wesley.